Sugar is a Drug!

I fully admit I am a sugarholic, I go through phases of eating chocolate most days and often crave sweet foods. In January I took on a Paleo challenge for 31days, the 1st 10days were based on the whole30 diet I didnt consume sugar of any kind real or artificial No maple syrup, honey, agave nectar, Splenda, Equal, Nutrasweet, xylitol, stevia, etc. I knew it would be tough but I needed to know how my body reacted when I removed this substance.

IT WAS HELL……. it really took effect on Day 2: Headaches, Moodswings, poor energy, cravings -What you expect from a smoker who has quit after 30 years!! I’m still apologising to my other half for my temporary psychotic episode lol!!

But it did pass and I started to feel the benefits, I had more energy, my skin was glowing, I dropped some pounds and I generally felt healthier. I’m still really shocked how giving up Sugar affected me so much and really thought me a lesson, In society today we are allowing ourselves and our children to become addicted to this substance causing obesity everywhere we look. We really are a nation hooked on Sugar & most people dont seem to care or realise that they are fully addicted to it.

When I finished my detox I started to eat chocolate again in moderation and then before I knew it I was eating chocolate every second day. It angered me that here I was again craving sugar everyday… so from yesterday I decided to give up sugar again, I wont go as strict this time, but will ease myself back in!

Follow my Journey here to see how I get on 🙂 🙂

Leave a Reply

