Gluten Free “Easter” mini Cupcakes

While on Holiday in Galway I found the cutest little pack for making Easter Cupcakes, it consisted of 2 egg cartons, some mini cupcake cases and cute chick’s that go in the cupcakes. I decided to use them as gifts & make cupcakes rather than buying the usual eggs, a way to promote a healthier alternative I guess.Image

I always try use what I already have in my cupboards and then buy small extras if needed, as I already had mint oil and gluten free flour this gave me the idea of doing a chocolate cupcake with a mint butter icing. This was my first attempt at making cupcakes (even though I have always been a big fan)  and I have to say I was quite surprised at how much sugar goes in to them but as its Easter i’ll keep going 🙂 🙂

Ingredients: (This is actually a recipe for regular cupcakes so just half for smaller ones)

  • 250g Butter, At room temperature
  • 250g Caster Sugar
  • 250g Gluten-Free Self-Rasing Flour
  • 4 Eggs
  • 1 tbsp Vanilla Extract
  • 3 tbsp Cocoa Powder    

For the Icing:

  • 200g Icing sugar
  • 200g Butter, At room temperature
  • 1 teaspoon peppermint oil
  • Chocolate shavings to decorate
  1. Preheat the oven to 180-200C. Line the cupcake tin with cupcake cases.
  2. Place the butter and sugar into a bowl, Whisk until pale and fluffy.
  3. Add the eggs one at a time, Add a little flour after each one. When combined add the vanilla and the cocoa powder, stir until combined.
  4. Divide up into the cupcake cases, Bake for 20 minutes until golden and risen.
  5. When cool make the icing, place the butter/mint and the icing sugar into a bowl, mix together with the back of a spoon until soft and light.
  6. Place the icing into a piping bag and decorate the cupcakes. I also added some chocolate shavings to finish them off.

Happy Easter 🙂 🙂 xxx

Image

2 thoughts on “Gluten Free “Easter” mini Cupcakes

Leave a Reply

