Tested this week- Gluten Free Porridge & Sugar/Dairy Free Chocolate

Hello fellow piggies πŸ™‚

Gluten Free Porridge

Usually I’m not the biggest fan of porridge but with the miserable winter mornings, you really need some substantial comforting food. The last time I ate porridge was so long ago that I can’t even remember but when I seen a box of Gluten Free Porridge oats in Lidl I said I would try them out, I think the box is around €3.50.

20131003-215033.jpg

I cooked the oats up in a pot with Almond Milk & opted for a topping of peanut butter, mixed dried berries and a teaspoon of honey- Yes peanut butter might sound odd but I’m odd and I LOVE peanut butter. Be creative with your topping as that’s the fun part πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

Verdict:

I was incredibly impressed!! The flavour was great, I wasn’t bloated afterwards & the best part for me was I stayed full for over 4 hours!!!! Will definitely be keeping this in the cupboard, I wouldn’t eat it every morning but it’s a nice option to have in the winter months πŸ™‚

20131003-220006.jpg

Dairy & Sugar Free Chocolate

20131003-220545.jpg

There’s not too much to say about this as it is just a chocolate bar!! I’ve tried so many alternative chocolate bars, the best in my option are the Raw Chocolate Bars by a company called: Conscious Chocolate is so so amazing but pretty expensive at €3-€4 per (small) bar but I recommend you try it as a treat πŸ™‚

Verdict

This bar is €1.49 so a good price but it’s overly minty ( can’t believe I even said that as I adore mint everything!!) But it is a bit over powering & the chocolate itself is a bit sickly and chalky-my verdict here is I wouldn’t rush out to buy this one!!

2 thoughts on “Tested this week- Gluten Free Porridge & Sugar/Dairy Free Chocolate

  1. Back when I used to eat porridge I often added a big heaped spoon of tahini to it, it was the only way that I could go for a few hours on the porridge, despite the fact that I loved my porridge (with dates or raisins soaked in it overnight before cooking) it didn’t fill me for very long.
    I notice that now I don’t always eat breakfast unless I’m doing something quite strenuous in the morning or going on a road trip. Hard to beat bacon and eggs though πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

