Gluten Free Banana Cake

Hi guys, sorry for the delay in writing; the last couple of weeks have been a bit hectic! But, some great things happened. Last Saturday at the box ( Ronin CrossFit) we held a 100 Burpee Challenge for Suicide or Survive. This is such a wonderful cause and one that I really believe in since my uncle died tragically in 2009. I feel there should be more emphasis, attention and support towards mental health resources. We live in a country where in the past everything had to be brushed under the carpet, but now we need to ensure that people know there are places to go to talk to someone and get help. We need to emphasis that mental health problems are nothing to be ashamed of. That is what Suicide or Survive are promoting!

photo(35)

The aim was to have 100 people doing 100 Burpees at the same time. As you can imagine, the place was packed and the atmosphere was buzzing with a combination of nerves and excitement. Everyone was separated into those who were doing it for fun on one side, and the crazy bunch that were doing it for time on the other. Yep, I was part of the crazy crew!! I finished in a time of 5 mins and 58 seconds. I had aimed for 7 mins. so was delighted with that time. Still, the best and most important part of the day was the money raised for the charity. While it hasn’t been calculated yet, it’s an honourable figure that will go towards workshops for Suicide or Survive. It is touching for me to know that we helped make this happen.

photo(32)

In work on Thursday, we held a bake sale/bake off in aid of Focus Ireland, and for this I went out of my comfort zone and made some cakes using very bold ingredients. I made a rocky road (Thanks to my friend, Nic for the recipe as it was delicious,) and gluten free roasted hazelnut brownies. Both turned out delish, but I admit that the amount of sugar in both was pretty insane. Still, it was great to make something new! There was an immense effort put in and some of the cakes were incredible, especially the novelty cakes. They were more like art than food. I ate a lot of cake and more sugar than I’ve had in a long long time. I’m not exaggerating when I say I felt crazy from all the sugar. I could barely speak by the end of the day, but a tough WOD sorted that out. In fact, I hit a Clean PR of 57.5KG so that helped me forget about the major sugar crash I was having!

photo(34)

Gluten Free Hazelnut Brownies

photo(33)

Rocky Road

The below recipe is for a Gluten Free/Primal style Banana Cake- similar to banana bread. It’s a lovely, comforting, moist cake that can be enjoyed at any time of the day

photo(30)

Ingredients:

  • 3 Brown Bananas
  • 3 Eggs
  • 2 1/2 cups of Almond Flour
  • 1/3 cup Grassfed Butter
  • 1 tbs Vanilla Extract
  • 1 tbs Raw Honey
  • 1/4 cup of Cacao Nibs
  • 1/4 cup of Flaked Almonds
  • 1 tbs Ground Flaxseed
  • 1 tsp Baking Powder
  • Pinch of Salt

Instructions:

1. Preheat the oven to 180.

2. In a food processor blend the bananas 1st, then add the eggs one at a time, add the butter, vanilla and honey and process for a couple of minutes until the ingredients resemble a batter.

3. Transfer the mix to a large bowl and mix in baking powder, flaxseed and salt, then one cup at a time mix in the almond flour using a wooden spoon or hand whisk. Finally add the nibs and almonds and combine.

4. Scoop into a 9 inch spring form tin and sprinkle some flaked almonds on top for decoration. Bake for 25-30 mins

5. Remove from oven and allow to cool before removing from tin.

Leave a Reply

