Nanas Spiced Apple Muffins

photo1(4)

A Sunday afternoon wouldn’t be complete at my Grandmother’s house without an apple pie or apple strudel. It was usually topped with HB Vanilla ice cream, and served up in her trusty silver bowls (for child proof reasons!) While I was cooking this recipe, the aromas of apple and cinnamon took over my senses, and transported me back to Marino, where my Grandmother lived and where my love of cooking started. She always had me helping out which made me feel important, as though I were the one feeding everyone. She even made me think that washing the dishes was fun. If only I could feel the same way now. Dishwashers make you lazy!!

I named this recipe, “Nana’s Spiced Apple Muffins,” because of the great memories I have of my grandmother’s apple pie.

Hope you enjoy!

Ingredients:

 

  • 2-3 Bramley Apple’s Peeled and cored
  • 2 Cups Coconut Flour
  • 7 Eggs Beaten
  • 1/2 Cup Dates Chopped
  • 1/4 Cup Grassfed Butter (Kerrygold)
  • 2 Tablespoons Ground Flaxseed
  • 2 Teaspoons Cinnamon
  • 1 Teaspoon Ground Ginger
  • 1/2 Teaspoon Ground Nutmeg
  • 1 Tablespoon Vanilla Extract
  • 1 Cup Water

1.  Preheat Oven to 180

2. In a pan over a high heat, add some coconut oil/butter, add the apple, dates and 1 teaspoon cinnamon & half a cup of water, the water will reduce so add the 2nd cup when needed. Cook until the apple is soft and put to one side to cool.

3. In a large bowl, combine all the dry ingredients, mix and add the wet ingredients, Mix well with an electric whisk. When the apple mixture has cooled, add this and mix again.

4. Scoop into silicone cases and bake for 25 minutes until golden. Remove and transfer to a wire rack to cool.

2 thoughts on “Nanas Spiced Apple Muffins

  1. Reading this brought back so many memories for me. I loved how nana used a fork to dent the apple pie crust, but thanks for reminding me of the silver ice-cream bowls. Definitely used for child proof reasons!

Leave a Reply

