Review: Kinetica Supplements

photo1(7)

I received some samples from Kinetica recently – a mix of Whey Protein and Recovery drinks. Kinetica are an innovative sports nutrition brand, offering the latest in sport and fitness supplements. They have a great range of flavours and the ones I trialled certainly passed the taste test! I don’t tend to take whey protein due to the dairy content, but I was interested to see how I would I would feel, and if the product would boost my training.

As someone who works 9 to 5, I tend to be pretty hungry by the time I hit my 6.30pm class. What I loved about the product was that when I consumed the shakes I had heaps more energy. Even after an intense wod I felt that I still had enough energy to work on some weightlifting skills – I’m pretty sure I even hit some PR’s!

My only negative is that personally I prefer to consume “raw proteins” so Hemp Protein would be at the top of my list. However, that wouldn’t stop me buying the Recovery for post-wod fuel, or using their protein for baking purposes (See recipe below).

The nutritional content of the ones I trialled are as follows:
Whey Protein: This is a high protein supplement that gives you 118kcal and 23.0g protein per 30g serving.
Pro-Release: This is a sustained release protein blend. A typical 30g serving gives you 110kcal and 23.5g protein. Great for post workout.
Recovery: Consists of 2:1 (Carb:Protein) post workout formula, containing a tri-carb blend and the highest quality proteins and vitamins, No BCAA’s added to this recovery supplement, although it contains L-Arginine and L-Carnitine.

Taking the supplements for one week only won’t make any major changes, but it showed me that consuming protein/recovery during training definitely helps to push you forward. Kinetica are keeping things exciting by offering great flavours and tons of variety, so there is something for everyone!

For the recipe below I used their Mint Chocolate Protein to make some yummy protein squares, hope you enjoy 🙂

892211_582846101785977_2058884633_o

Ingredients:
-1 cup blanched almonds (any nuts would work here)
– 1/3 cup flaked almonds
-2-4 scoops of protein powder- I used Kinetica Mint Chocolate flavour
-1/3 cup dates (finely chopped)
-1 tbsp honey,
-1/2 cup peanut butter
-1/3 cup coconut oil, melted
-1/4 cup shredded coconut

Method:
1. Blend the nuts in a food processor until broken into small pieces.
2. In a large bowl, mix the nuts with the remaining ingredients.
3. Line a flat square oven dish with parchment paper. Pour in the protein square mix, and smooth the top with the back of a spoon.
4. Sprinkle some shredded coconut and flaked almonds over the top, and place in the freezer for an hour to set. Keep stored in the fridge.

Leave a Reply

