Raw Rolos (Rawlos)

1b

One of my favourite memories of cooking as a child was purchasing the “Roald Dahl-Revolting Recipes” cookbook with my confirmation money. Every Thursday my mam would help me collect the ingredients for a new recipe each week. It was extremely captivating for me as I loved all the Roald Dahl stories. This cookbook helped to bring the stories alive, you could have fun creating delicious recipes all with a Roald Dahl twist; there was Mr Twit’s Beard Food, Stink Bugs’ Eggs, or Bruce Bogtrotter’s Cake to name a few. I literately could not wait to get to the shop each week so I could recreate some of these crazy culinary delights! Unfortunately I lost this book over the years but I must buy it again as it would be fun going down memory lane and attempting some of the recipes again, I think I’d have to start with the chocolate cake from “Matilda” for obvious reasons!

 

Speaking of nostalgic memories recently I’ve been trying to recreate old school treats I used to enjoy. I posted the raw Bounty recipe 3 weeks ago and now this week I’ve recreated some Raw Rolos. I love the challenge in creating these retro treats in a new healthier format, if you have any ideas for future recipes or if you can no longer eat something you used to love due to diet restrictions, then let me know and I will try my best to remake them to suit you!

Here is the recipe for the Rolos- (Moulds for chocolates by Mason & Cash, available to buy in Arnotts)

photo1(19)

Ingredients:

To make chocolate: 
  • 1/4 cup melted (Nua Naturals) cacao butter
  • 1Tbs coconut oil
  • 3 Tbs raw honey/maple
  • 5 Tbs raw (Nua Naturals) cacao powder
  • Pinch salt
Caramel: 
  • 1/2 cup soaked dates
  • 2 Tbs honey/maple
  • Splash of water
Method:
  1. In a bowl over hot water, slowly melt the cacao butter & coconut oil. Remove from the heat and add honey/maple syrup. Mix well and sift in cacao powder, whisking to combine.
  2. Add the mix to moulds until the bottom is evenly coated. Place in freezer/fridge for 10-15 minutes to set.
  3. To make caramel, add all of the ingredients to a food processor and blend until it reaches a smooth consistency.
  4. Spoon a small amount of the caramel onto the set chocolate & spoon remaining liquid chocolate over to cover caramel.
  5. Place in the fridge again for at least an hour.

**Note – these are best stored in the freezer.

One thought on “Raw Rolos (Rawlos)

  1. Pingback: Cranberry And Pistachio Bark |

Leave a Reply

