Boojum restaurant-Dublin 8

photo1

Over the last few years burritos have become a staple part of most Dubliners diet, with more and more Mexican style eateries popping up in our colourful city. Not all have mastered the art, but one spot that is (in my opinion) the leader of the pack is Boojum. They have something for everyone, and you always know what you’re getting. I was really excited to be invited to try out their new restaurant located in the very vibrant Dublin 8.

Upon entering, the first thing I noticed is the size of the place. The original branch in the Millenium Walkway can get cramped very quickly, and is somewhere you may only eat with a couple of friends, but this new spot is somewhere you can have fun and eat with a group. It’s very spacious and the huge windows all around the building meant that it’s beautifully bright aswell.

Big Space!

Big Space!

In true Boojum style I am greeted by their happy, upbeat staff and shown around the space. I am told that the kitchen here is double the size of the Northside Boojum, so everything is made fresh in-house. The menu is the same – why change something that doesn’t need changing I say! I choose my favourite option, the salad – this is basically a burrito in a bowl, lettuce leaves, Mexican spiced veg, carnitas (aka pulled pork), guacamole (70c extra) salsa verde and cheese. With the burrito in a bowl, I love how it’s all about the meat – there’s lots of it and there is nothing getting in the way, you can dive right in. But I’m sure a lot of you burrito lovers enjoy getting your hands dirty, with the traditional style.

I also got to try some corn tortillas which come with a trio of dips: guac, salsa and hot cheese sauce. I don’t usually like melted cheese. but Oh my God the cheese dip was insanely addictive!! A source from Boojum advised: “The Hard Tacos and Nachos are gluten free (but if you are getting nachos, the queso is not so just choose regular cheese instead” How great is that?? (For allergy suffers please check again instore for advice)

Nachos and Burrito Salad-YUM!

Nachos and Burrito Salad-YUM!

If you want to lose a few hours like me and my friend, then Boojum, Dublin 8 is a great spot. We never felt rushed or pressured to leave – this can sometimes happen in the other branch as it’s so busy with people queuing to get in! The Northside based Boojum is more convenient for me, but if I was looking to have a low-cost meal with a group of friends then I would definitely choose this location.

Burrito Geek!

Burrito Geek!

Great job Boojum!!

Leave a Reply

