I am still learning…

life_isnt_about_waiting_for_the_storm_to-2

Two week ago I applied for a Social Media internship with the Health Bloggers Community, and to my surprise I got it!!  The HBC is a rapidly growing community for health and wellbeing bloggers, and while there is a lot of action going on social media-wise, it’s all geared towards the website which is due to be launched very soon. I can’t share the details just yet (as I’d have to kill you) but it’s all very exciting! I have been keeping my head down and soaking up all of the amazing knowledge coming my way, and I finally feel I’m on the right track!

When you start a blog it’s just an outlet for your thoughts and ideas, or a place to share recipes with friends, but for me it’s been such a learning curve and somewhere for me to let my crazy Aquarian brain loose for a few hours (I had to find something to tire the hyper-active child within me, and it works)! I am so grateful for such an amazing opportunity, so watch this space for more exciting things to come!

A lot of people asked me for the recipe for the “Sticky Asian Duck” I shared on Facebook and Instagram yesterday – the pics aren’t great as they were done on my phone but it’s all I got! Here ya go:

IMG_7111

 

Ingredients:

2 x duck breasts

For the marinade:

• 2 tbs rice or white wine vinegar
• 1 tbs honey
• Juice of 1/2 an orange
• 2 tbs coconut aminos (or soy sauce)
• 2 tbs dried chilli flakes
• 1 tbs chinese five spice

Salt and pepper asparagus:

• Bunch of asparagus, washed and trimmed
• Himalayan sea salt
• Black pepper
• 1/2 lemon

Asian style baby potatoes:

• 1 bag baby potatoes
• 2 spring onions, chopped
• 1/2 chilli, finely chopped
• Coconut aminos
• Small bunch of coriander, chopped
• Olive oil

Method:

  1.  Preheat the oven to 200 °C. Using a sharp knife, cut a criss-cross pattern in the skin of the duck breast, taking care not to slice all the way through.
  2. Put all of the ingredients for the marinade in a small bowl and mix well. Add the duck breast and turn to coat, then place in the fridge to marinade for 30 mins – 1 hour.
  3. While the duck is marinating, boil the potatoes in salted water on a medium heat for 5-8 mins, and set aside to cool. Now prepare the asparagus, by placing on a baking sheet and drizzle with extra virgin olive oil, and seasoning well with salt and pepper. Use your hands to toss the asparagus in the oil and seasoning, and then arrange on the baking rack so they are not touching. Bake for 12 mins, remove and add more salt and pepper and juice of 1/2 a lemon. If you like, you can put the asparagus back in the oven a few minutes before serving to crisp it up.
  4. Place the duck breasts in a dry, non-stick pan (no need for oil as duck is so fatty) over a medium heat, skin side down, reserving the leftover marinade. Cook for about 8 minutes, until the skin is very crispy, then drain off the oil (there will be lots). Then cook the other-side for about 2 minutes until browned. Transfer the breast to a oven dish and bake for 10-12 minutes.
  5. To make the potatoes, add to a bowl with the remaining ingredients and toss well.
  6. When the duck is cooked to your liking, remove from the oven and cover with tin foil. To make a sauce, pour the reserved marinade into a pan and fry until it starts to gently bubble.
  7. Add the asparagus to the plate and top with the duck breast, then pour over the sauce. Serve with the potatoes on the side. Enjoy!
Leave a Reply

