6 natural tips for healthy skin

beautiful-rain-pictures-45-photos-14With the freezing cold and windy weather upon us, it means our skin is having an awful time. Even using the thickest dry skin cream doesn’t seem to work and I get patches of dryness. As a young child I was taught the importance of skincare; most nights I was lathered in Nivea lotion after my bath! This regime has stayed with me my whole life and I have a basic routine that I follow every morning and night that works for me. But there are other points to keep in mind in order to achieve healthy, glowing skin.

1. Remove processed/refined sugar from your diet: When I go sugar free, the biggest change is always in my skin. It becomes brighter, and I get that sought after healthy glow, so much so that I can forget about make up. Refined sugar is a toxin and as the skin is our biggest organ, when the body tries to process these toxins, it leads to breakouts. Sugar also ages the skin and can lead to premature ageing, which is due to the sugars attacking the collagen in the skin and causing dehydration. Try a sugar free plan and see how you get on; after 4 weeks re-introduce some natural sugars and you will definitely notice a difference.

IMG_9007
2. Hydrate, Hydrate, Hydrate: This is the one we all know! Water is so important for healthy skin, so start your morning with some lemon and hot water instead of coffee and this will help to flush out toxins as well as hydrating the skin. Drink water throughout the day, and keep in mind that if you are training regularly you will require more than the average person, aiming for 3 litres.
3. Eat more fats: Omega-3 fatty acids are known to be anti-inflammatory. The high ratio of omega-6 to omega-3 fatty acids in our modern diet likely plays a role in common inflammatory skin conditions such as acne, psoriasis, eczema and rosacea. Omega-3s heal the skin from the inside out, repairing damaged cell membranes which helps to make the skin more resilient to both internal and external threats.

IMG_9008-2
4. Focus on your skincare: The obvious one here is to ALWAYS make sure to remove any make up you are wearing before going to bed and that even means before you crawl into bed at 4am after a wild night out! Leaving make up on overnight clogs the pores and leads to breakouts. Introduce more organic natural products into your regime, and treat your skin like you treat your diet, looking the ingredients of your products. Look at what suits your skin type (dry, normal, combination, oily, or sensitive). Some of the health shops do great products that work really well, (I’ll include some recommendations at the bottom). Bring coconut oil out of the kitchen and into the bathroom; you can you it as a face-mask, moisturiser, body moisturiser, scrub, hand cream – the list is endless! Avoid sun damage and always use a SPF 30+, even in winter.

5. Cut your shower time: Believe me – there’s nothing I love more than a long, hot shower, but cutting your shower time and cooling the temperature of the water will do wonders for your body. It’s an easy step to incorporate into your regime and will make a lot of difference.

Screen Shot 2015-01-16 at 13.50.15

6. Eat gelatin: Not the Haribo kind unfortunately, I’m talking about grass-fed Gelatin! Gelatin is essentially cooked and powdered collagen. People pay serious money for creams that claim to packed full of collagen to reduce wrinkles. The thing is, it doesn’t work very well, collagen should be consumed internally. Taking gelatin daily will help build great hair, nails and skin from the inside out, helping to reduce wrinkles and scars or stretch marks. I use a brand called Great Lakes and this can be added to smoothies but my favourite way to consume is by making jellies.

If you have any natural beauty tips, please share in the comments below!

Products I love and recommend:

Rosehip Oil: I love this stuff, I use it before bed every night and because it’s light it won’t clog up the skin like some night creams. The oil’s potent natural actives make it highly effective for scars and stretch marks and other skin concerns including dehydrated and ageing skin. You only need a tiny drop so a bottle will go a long way.

My choice: Trilogy Certified Organic Rosehip Oil-€35 or Kinvara Rosehip Face Serum-€28 (Kinvara is an Irish brand and smells divine) Available in Nourish Health Store.

IMG_9002

Rose Water: Toner can be pretty harsh on the skin and lead to dryness. I suffer with dry skin and always find that my skin feels really tight after using it. I haven’t used toner in a very long time because of this, I have a good quality eye make up remover for nights out but a few times a week I use rose water in place of toner. Rose water is filled with antioxidants and vitamins, therefore, it can help prevent the signs of ageing and nourish the skin. It’s really cheap and can be purchased in most pharmacy or Boots store. Be sure you don’t buy the Rosewater for cooking as that is NOT suitable for skincare.

My choice: Organic Rosewater Spray €7.89 (Healthshop.ie) Traditional Glycerin and Rosewater €3.49 (Boots)

IMG_9006

Thanks for reading xx

3 thoughts on “6 natural tips for healthy skin

  1. Pingback: My Skin Care Routine |

Leave a Reply

