Review: Primal Energy MCT Oil

IMG_0484As you are aware I recently received some products from Love Life Supplements, from their new Primal range. The protein got the thumbs up, but how did I find the MCT oil? Read on to find out!

So it gives you more energy, speeds up your metabolism, and stops hunger, but what exactly is this magical MCT oil you keep hearing about?

MCT simply stands for medium chain triglycerides (fats), as opposed to long chain triglycerides (LCT), which are found in most foods. MCT oil occurs naturally in coconut oil among other foods. It’s understood that when MCT oil is metabolized in the body, it behaves like a carbohydrate rather than a fat. Unlike other fats, MCT oil does not go through the lymphatic system. Instead, it is transported directly to the liver where it is metabolized so it releases energy like a carbohydrate and creates ketones (which can be used for fuel and brain function) in the process.

Why choose Primal Energy?

According to the website:

We guarantee the highest quality MCT Oil which is produced in the UK. MCT Oil is becoming ever more popular with athletes for a fast efficient energy source that encourages healthy body composition.

Our flavourless supplement is liquid at room temperature so can make the perfect accompaniment to any food or drink.

IMG_0124

What’s in it?

100% Coconut Medium Chain Tryglycerides.

The verdict:

I have tried bulletproof coffee in the past (that’s the coffee made with butter and MCT oil for those who haven’t heard of this) and this was using the Bulletproof brand (very pricey). Yes it kept my hunger at bay but I always felt it left me feeling a bit sickly, so I stopped drinking it. When I received the MCT oil from LLS I said I would give it a go again as I had been feeling pretty tired with all the extra training I’ve been doing.

Like I said before, I will always give an honest review of any product I receive, so I tried the MCT oil for over 3 weeks. I was taking 1 Tbsp in my coffee in the morning and making a salad dressing for my lunch (also using 1 Tbsp). I noticed the difference immediately; I had tons of extra energy which lasted right into the evening. I train most evenings from 18.30 to 20.30 or 19.30 to 20.30, and after working 9 to 5 the day is pretty long so any extra energy is fully welcomed. On the days I took the 2 Tbsp oil I really noticed the difference – I even tested it by stopping my intake for a day and definitely noticed I was more lethargic on those days. I will continue to use this product even after I finish the bottle, it’s great value and the shipping is super quick!

Cost:

£13.95 £19.95 Product is on sale at the moment

Delivery:

  • UK-Free
  • They also ship to many European countries; It costs £5.50 to ship to Western Europe and £6.50 to Central Europe.

Recipe:

Easy Lemon/Pesto salad dressing

IMG_0250

Ingredients:

  • 3 tbsp fresh pesto (make your own if possible)
  • 1-2 Tbsp Primal Energy
  • 3 Tbsp lemon juice

Method:

  1. In a bowl mix all of the ingredients together until combined. I usually make my dressing in a jar, as you can put a lid on it and give it a good shake.
  2. Pour over your salad and enjoy immediately.

Links:

Official Love Life Supplements Website –

http://www.lovelifesupplements.co.uk/

Official Ben Law Primal Website –

http://www.benlawprimal.uk/

Leave a Reply

