Healthy “After Eight” Cups

IMG_2419Hi, my name is Aimee and I’m addicted to mint! I love it all; mint tea, mint chocolate, I even enjoy brushing my teeth because of the flavour! Well except for that one time I bought this Hippy Dippy fennel toothpaste but we won’t talk about that. It’s still a laughing matter in this household!

To make this recipe you’ll need peppermint oil, I use the Steenbergs brand and this can be purchased in Fallon & Byrne. It’s a little pricey but a little goes a long way, I’ve had mine for a very long time (I must check the date actually lol). You don’t need an awful lot per recipe. If you know anywhere else to buy the oil please comment below with the details.

For all you mint fanatics, you may also like my Paleo After Eights – they were one of my first recipes on the blog, so it’s where I came up with the idea for the cups.

Ingredients:

For the chocolate

  • 1 bar 85% – 90% dark chocolate
  • 2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1 tsp coconut oil

For the mint centre

  • 1/2 cup cashews, soaked (optional-will work without)
  • 1/3 cup coconut oil, melted
  • 3 Tbsp coconut flour/desiccated coconut
  • 3 Tbsp maple syrup
  • 1 tsp peppermint oil

You could also use the filling from my previous recipe (this method will melt very easily due to the coconut oil)

  • 1/4 cup coconut oil
  • 1/3 cup honey
  • 1 Tsp peppermint oil

Method:

1. I suggest using silicon moulds for this as they work best. Melt the chocolate with the vanilla, stir and pour into the moulds, only 1/4 way up – you only want to cover the base. Pop in the freezer to set.

2. Add all of the ingredients for the centre to a food processor and mix for about 10 minutes. It should clump together when it’s ready. Taste to see if the flavour is minty enough, I had to add a little extra to mine and mix again for a further few minutes to combine.

3. Remove the chocolate bases from the freezer and add a spoonful of the mixture to the centre. I used my hands to spread it out into a square.

4. You may need to heat the chocolate up again – I add a teaspoon of coconut oil here as it gives it a nice silky finish. Pour over the mint centre ensuring that it is all covered. You can now decorate the top with some nuts and seeds or just leave it plain.

** I had a good bit of the mint mixture left, store in the fridge so you can use again!

health-benefits-of-green-mint-leaves

2 thoughts on “Healthy “After Eight” Cups

  1. Pingback: Cranberry And Pistachio Bark |

Leave a Reply

