Clean Chocolate Muffins with Peanut Butter Icing

9147_54_pages_06_956_588x448I’m finding it so hard to concentrate to write this now so I apologise if I’m a blubbering mess! As you all know we voted for the Marriage referendum yesterday. I’m sitting here today feeling so proud (and emotional) to be Irish as I scroll through my Twitter feed and see all the support and results coming through! Sorry to my twitter followers for the 1 million tweets that’s I’ve re-tweeted today but I can’t even explain how Happy I am right now! I was brought up to never judge anyone, that we are all humans and we should all treat one another with respect. I thank my parents for these amazing life lessons which I will also pass onto my children in the future and today we have made this country a better place for all future generations. Ireland I love you!!!

Why not celebrate with these delicious cakes today!

unnamed

Ingredients:

Muffins

Makes 15 muffins (I had lots of icing left over)

  • 1 cup almond flour
  • 10 prunes chopped
  • 3 eggs
  • 3 tbsp maple syrup
  • 1/4 tsp, Himalayan pink salt
  • 1/4 tsp baking soda
  • 1 tsp pure vanilla extract

unnamed (1)

Icing

    • 1/2 cup peanut butter
    • 1/2 cup grassfed Butter
    • 3 tbsp, Maple Syrup
    • 1 tsp Vanilla extract
    • Pinch of salt

Method:

  1. In a food processor- pulse the almond flour, salt and baking soda.
  2. Pulse in Prunes and while the machine is running pour in the eggs/maple and vanilla.
  3. Transfer mixture to some muffins cases and Bake at 350° for 12-15 minutes, place on a wire rack to cool
  4. Clean the food processor and combine the peanut butter and butter. Add the maple/vanilla and salt and mix until it’s thick and creamy.
  5. Spoon into a piping bag and when the muffins cool, pipe the mixture on top. Sprinkle with topping such as peanuts or cacoa nibs and enjoy!

Tips:

  • If you only want to make the cakes (without icing) I suggest adding 1/3 cup butter or coconut oil
  • The mixture can be turned into brownies by simply using a cake tin.

unnamed (2)

Nutrition Facts
Servings 15.0
Amount Per Serving
calories 198
% Daily Value *
Total Fat 16 g 24 %
Saturated Fat 6 g 29 %
Monounsaturated Fat 1 g
Polyunsaturated Fat 0 g
Trans Fat 0 g
Cholesterol 16 mg 5 %
Sodium 253 mg 11 %
Potassium 107 mg 3 %
Total Carbohydrate 11 g 4 %
Dietary Fiber 1 g 5 %
Sugars 7 g
Protein 5 g 11 %
Vitamin A 9 %
Vitamin C 0 %
Calcium 5 %
Iron 4 %
* The Percent Daily Values are based on a 2,000 calorie diet, so your values may change depending on your calorie needs. The values here may not be 100% accurate because the recipes have not been professionally evaluated nor have they been evaluated by the U.S. FDA.
Leave a Reply

