What To Pack For A Crossfit Competition

As I was drafting my own list prior to packing for the Waterford Throwdown, I thought “Why not put it on the blog”? I can use it for future reference and help some of you guys who may be competing for the first time! I know how hard it can be to concentrate when the nerves kick in (I’m experiencing it right now, being 2 days out from my next comp) so hopefully this list will help put you at ease when it comes to packing.  I’ve only done a handful of competitions myself so I’m no expert, but I’ll share some of my essentials.

2014-05-14 22.04.40-2

Tools/Equipment

  • Headbands
  • Nanos
  • Oly Shoes
  • Wrist Straps/Gloves
  • Knee sleeves
  • Athlete tape
  • Skipping rope
  • Weightlifting belt
  • Mobility Bands/lacrosse ball
  • PVC pipe
  • Foam roller
  • Water bottle
  • Chalk

10403482_791036874261399_1633284823684314392_n

Clothing

I usually plan a change for each wod, even if I might only change my top – I always feel it’s good to have spares just in case!

  • Sunglasses
  • Sports bra x 2 (for the ladies)
  • Tank tops/T-shirts x 3
  • Long sleeved top
  • Nike pro shorts
  • Bottoms x 3
  • Shorts
  • Weightlifting socks
  • Regular socks x 2
  • Hoodie
  • Hair bobbins (for lady and man buns!)
  • Flip flops

10676328_753169201420332_3782030726541443815_n

Food

I did a previous post in the past over on Boxrox which covered “What to eat when competing?” Which may be useful to you! I found that when I compete, I lose my appetite and can only nibble at things throughout the day. I usually end up drinking a lot of coconut water or electrolytes to help keep me fueled. I also eat things like jellies (shock horror lol) as the glucose helps keeps my sugar levels up. A very important point to remember is not to try anything new on the day. If you have never taken a pre-workout or energy gels before DO NOT decide to sample them the morning of the competition. Only eat and drink what you know your body can tolerate.

  • A bucket load of water
  • Coconut water
  • Coffee
  • Bananas
  • Grapes
  • Nut butter
  • Trail mix/Wyldsson
  • Roasted/Mashed sweet potato (with added turmeric)
  • Chicken/Turkey breast
  • Protein bars
  • Homemade energy balls
  • Jellies

10491228_701943596542893_4498982140277616664_n

Supplements

  • Take your fish oils/GLC 2000 with your breakfast
  • Protein 
  • Recovery drinks ( I use the Viper Active by Maxi Fuel)
  • Electrolytes

Extras/Miscellaneous

  • Towel
  • Sunscreen
  • Deodorant
  • Lip balm
  • Tissues
  • Hand sanitizer
  • Baby wipes
  • First aid kit
  • Plastic bag for sweaty clothes

1209074_533795046691083_2144291111_n

Competing can be pretty scary but be proud of yourself for taking the leap to sign up in the first place! Enjoy the experience & take all the lessons it throws at you….

2 thoughts on “What To Pack For A Crossfit Competition

Leave a Reply

