Wyldsson-“Make your own bar” review

IMG_4596

As you all know I’m a big fan of the Wyldsson products, so I was delighted to be asked to test a new prototype. This new product is another step in making healthy eating more user friendly and convenient – it’s a “make your own bar” (flapjack) pack. Personally, I think it’s a great idea! Yes, making flapjacks is not rocket science but because the bag is packed full of chopped nuts and fruit, it uses up zero amount of your time (you could even get the kids involved).

IMG_4592

There are 4 simple steps and 3 extra ingredients needed to make the bars. I’m not 100% sure if the tub of almond butter comes in the pack too, I got the tub with the delivery, so this made it even handier but would make it more pricey I’d imagine!

Ingredients:

  • 1 bag Bar Mix
  • 1 very ripe banana
  • 3 tbsp almond butter
  • 1 egg

I also added in a scoop of protein because – well…GAINS lol!

Method: 

1. Mash the banana in a bowl, add all of the mix, then add the egg and protein if you’re using it.

2. Mix really well, use your hands to ensure it’s mixed thoroughly.

3. In a baking tray lined with parchment paper, spread the mixture out evenly, leaving it pretty thick. Smooth the top using a spatula or your hands.

4. Bake for 18 minutes until golden, leave aside to cool before cutting.

The verdict:

I really loved this product, the whole process from start to finish took less than 20 minutes. The instructions are laid out really clearly, so there’s nowhere to go wrong. They certainly passed the taste test with myself and Mr. PP; the banana gives them a subtle sweetness unlike the sugar loaded ones you find in the shops. I’m not sure of the cost yet but I definitely would buy it again in the future for a quick healthy snack! The pack says it makes about 6 bars but it depends on the tin you use as I got about 8.

IMG_4619

Hope you enjoy reading, for more info check out the Wyldsson website.

Leave a Reply

