If at first you don’t succeed…

If you’re looking for a 5 week quick fix then look away now – this progress has been a long time coming! As someone who was never eating to lose weight, my fuel was always based around performance and how much extra weight I could get on the bar as opposed to how I looked! IMG_5951 I trained pretty intensely 5-6 days a week so I  ate what I wanted without monitoring. Low carb – high fat was how it was for some time, and while I was never overweight I did get a bit of a shock when I hit the scales at 72kg in January of this year. Even though there was a lot of muscle there, I’m only 5ft 3 remember, and was looking pretty stacked lol! I felt it was time to focus on my diet and see what was going on. IMG_5968 Enter MyFitnessPal: When I started tracking, I noticed my fats were in surplus (a lot) and I wasn’t eating near enough protein or carbs. A lot of us are programmed to believe that carbs are bad so we tend to avoid them, leaving us not properly fuelled for all the training we’re putting in! I introduced oats and rice, upped my protein and in a short space of time I was down to 70kg (now we all know the scales are no good for tracking as muscle weighs more etc etc). This is when I got in touch with Dominic Munnelly to help me out with my nutrition. Dominic has been in the Industry for over 15 years and applies an “evidence based” approach rather than a quick fix, and after attending a seminar with himself and Danny Lennon it was just what I needed! I met up with Dominic and we spoke about my goals, he took all my measurements and sorted out my macros and calorie intake, so here’s what I’m working off at the moment:

2,437cals/day to maintain

1,937 to drop 1lb or 0.5kg per week

So with that my macros look like:

190g carbs per day (40%)

143g protein per day (30%)

63g fat per day (30%)

Within a month of following these macros I was down to 68.5kg and my strength training hasn’t suffered which is something I was worried about. I’m due to meet up with Dominic soon to discuss my progress and future goals. IMG_5966 What I’ll say is I am not someone who likes to have rules and restrictions on eating, as I don’t think it’s healthy for the body or mind. If we follow a more balanced approach we will reach our goals over time and without feeling like we’re on some crazy diet. Instead it’s a lifestyle, a way of eating for life and not some 5 week challenge where you’re miserable and hating every second of it. Yes, you will probably lose some weight but you can be guaranteed it won’t stay off for long when you start eating normally again. The truth is, there is no quick fix but think about fueling your body with colourful, nutritious food and in time you will get the results you want – you just gotta have patience!   img_1225

Leave a Reply

