Double Chocolate Banana Bread

92928405-8D4C-4167-99D6-BF97EF76C404I do apologise for the lack of posts recently, as most of you know I started an Internship 7 weeks ago! I dived head first into it so I can learn as much as possible. The great news is I am learning very quickly and loving the work, but sometimes I am so tired, I feel queasy just thinking about my own stuff! I know this will change as I get more experienced but I really want to give this opportunity 100% so please bear with me. I’m posting daily across on my social media pages so be sure to come say hello there and I will post on the blog as often as I can, I promise!

Now let’s talk food!!

If I could turn everything into chocolate I probably would! I love regular banana bread but one day I had an idea to make a chocolate option (of course)! My brain works in a crazy way, I don’t sit down and decide which recipes I should make, ideas flood in randomly and then I try to create them!

Ingredients:

  • 3 very ripe bananas
  • 3 eggs
  • 4 tbsp grassfed butter (can use coconut oil also)
  • 1/2 cup coconut flour
  • 1/4 cup raw cacao
  • 2-3 tablespoons dark chocolate chips
  • 1/2 tbsp ground cinnamon
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1/4 tsp ground nutmeg
  • pinch of salt

IMG_7727

Method

  1. Preheat the oven to 180 and grease a bread tin with butter or coconut oil.
  2. In a food processor as the bananas, eggs, butter and vanilla, mix until the ingredients are well blended.
  3. Add the coconut flour, cacao, cinnamon, nutmeg baking powder and salt. Continue to mix until all the ingredients are well combined with no lumps. Stir in the chocolate chips by hand.
  4. Spoon your batter evenly into your prepared bread tin and use the back of a spoon to smooth down the tops.
  5. Bake for 10 minutes, then cover with tinfoil and bake for a further 15mins. Bake until it’s nicely browned or until a skewer or toothpick comes out clean!
  6. Remove from the oven and allow to cool in the loaf pans for 10 mins before transferring to a wire rack to cool completely.
  7. Serve with some greek yogurt and strawberries for extra yumminess! (It’s just as good on it’s own too!)

Hope you enjoy and be sure to share the recipe if you make it!

Leave a Reply

