Linseed And Chia Seed Porridge Bread

My dad told me about porridge bread ages ago and I forgot all about it until I found the recipe over the weekend. It should actually be called “Lazy Bread” as it’s so easy to make. As someone who rarely eats bread, this lovely bread has been disappearing very quickly in my presence. It reminds me of the soda bread my dad used to make when we were younger, you couldn’t wait for it to cool down and the butter would go all melty-HEAVEN!

IMG_0288

For this recipe I’ve used gluten free oats but you can use regular oats too and like I always say in my recipes, don’t feel tied to what I put in. You can add any nuts or seeds or even dried fruit!

Ingredients:

Make 2 small loaves or one large!

  • 2 yogurt tubs of porridge oats
  • 500 ml tub of greek yogurt
  • 1 medium egg
  • 1 tbsp of bread soda
  • 1 tablespoon milk
  • 1/4 cup of chia seeds
  • 1/4 cup whole flaxseed
  • ½ tsp salt

Method:

  1. Preheat oven to 180°C  Grease a standard loaf tin
  2. In a large bowl; add the yogurt, milk and egg and give it a little mix.
  3. Using the same yogurt tub measure out 2 tubs of oats, add to the bowl along with the bread soda, salt and seeds.
  4. Stir thoroughly.
  5. Pour the mixture into your loaf tin.
  6. Cut a line down the centre, not too deep-just along the top.
  7. Sprinkle some oats (or seeds) on top.
  8. Bake for about 30 mins-35 mins.
  9. Leave to cool before removing from the tin, but you can transfer to a wire rack after 15 mins.

bread 2

 

Leave a Reply

