The Perfect Jeans For “Girls That Lift”

You know the deal, you’ve discovered weightlifting and the barbell is now your best friend. The PR’s are flying in and you’re loving life UNTIL you find yourself in Topshop of a Saturday and none of the jeans seem to go past your quads! We’ve all been there and the term “the struggle is real” never felt so apt as your twist and turn in the changing room, praying you don’t come crashing through the door!

To help all you lady beasts out there, I drafted some super strong women to find out what jeans they happily get over their quads and bootay! We all come in different shapes and sizes so it was interesting to see what brands they wear! Strong is sexy, so don’t forget that and don’t be stressed, there’s always jeggings!

Me! Lover of Barbell’s and Blogger

River Island- €50

2557CE92-2ED8-4F39-8966-4E81BB8812F3

I’ve always struggled with jeans! I’m pretty short and mother nature granted me with Beyonce-esque thighs! Most jeans cut off the blood supply to my legs and if I jump up a size, let’s just say it’s more bob the builder than Beyonce!

You have to search until you find the perfect fit for you and while I love the Baxter/Jamie design from Topshop, I find they are always too long for my short legs! River Island is where it’s at for me. I discovered the black Amelie skinny jeans and now I can run in and grab my size without even trying them on! They are cut perfectly with subtle stretchy material and never lose the shape.

I particularly love River Island jeans because they cater for the short arses of Ireland like myself! I just hope they never change the design because I believe they’re the perfect jeans for the girls that lift!

 

Sarah Doyle, Founder of The Better Life Project and Powerlifter

Zara- €50 (€25 on sale)

12476754_10156400992815258_239729101_o

I got these jeans from Zara during the Christmas sales. They were reduced from about €50 to €25 so I was pretty happy. I actually laughed when Aimee asked me to take part in this feature, as I’ve always struggled with jeans! James says I have squatters genetics aka “a big arse” but I think it’s my legs that are the part I struggle with the most. If I can get a pair of jeans over my thighs I am winning.

But I never usually can and if I do they are hanging off my waist so when stretchy jeans were invented I was one happy girl. My fave jeans are probably River Island and Dr. Denim. This pair from Zara was a great deal. 

Claire McGrath, Miss Fitness Ireland and All Round Fitness Fanatic

Tommy- €120 (€80 on sale)

jens

I got these jeans in Tommy in Dundrum, they were €120 but got them on sale for €80. They are just the perfect fit, I love them because they are super stretchy, they fit me when I’m leaner for the on season and even for off-season gains lol!

Lisa Regan, PR Queen and All Round Fitness Fanatic

Topshop-€60

lisa.jpg

My top pick for jeans is Topshop Jamie brand– soft and large pockets on the bum. This is key for your bum to look good- the bigger the pocket the nicer the bum! I have these 6 months and they wash and fit great. A little stretch in them and they sit well on the waist and move with your body as opposed to it.

Jeans are my staple but are so hard to come by! A good pair is worth it’s weight in gold! I love an ankle grazer as it elongates the leg giving the illusion of a slimmer leg and also the ankle is a nice area to have exposed as it helps to break up your look of you are doing just one colour. These jeans are perfect for work, day wear or night time.

Michelle Massey, Weightlifting/Crossfit athlete and Blogger at Kettlebelle

Pull and Bear- €29.99

Screen Shot 2016-03-11 at 11.49.29.png

I get all my jeans from Pull and Bear! They have an amazing selection and they stock these ‘stretch fit’. Basically, that means I can still buy my standard size but they stretch to fit perfectly around my quads and ass which are slightly bigger than what would be classed as a “standard” size 8. I find buying jeans that sit on my hips rather than waist works well too!!!

Kelly Donegan, Author and Health & Fitness Influencer

H&M-€38

kelly.jpg

I’ll be honest and say I hate jeans to death…I still haven’t found a brand, style or shape that fits my tree trunk quads. Lately I’m wearing these faux leather pants from H&M because they are super stretchy and comfy!

Jeans are a no go unless they are a huge size then I tend to need a belt because the waist is too big! First world problems I think..

Ursula Macken, PT, Weightlifting Athlete and Blogger

Bershka €29.99

IMG_0062

These are my favorite pair. They’re the first pair I’ve found that fit me perfectly. Tight in the right places but have enough stretch too, basically the next best thing to gym pants (LOL)!

I usually find with skinny trousers that either the ends are too baggy if they fit around the waist, or the legs will be perfect but the waist too high! It’s funny, I live in them but I’ve no decent pictures wearing them!


Freddy Jeans

I haven’t worn them myself but I’ve read multiple reviews from women who can’t wear any other brand! They have a very unique cut that really accentuate your “gains” but all the reviews say they are super comfy and I’m all about that! Do any of you guys have a pair and would you recommend them? If you recommend a brand that’s not mentioned, be are to comment below!

freddy

-All views in this article are the individuals own, none are linked to brands mentioned.

7 thoughts on “The Perfect Jeans For “Girls That Lift”

  1. Thank you so much. With my waist line getting smaller and my quads and ass fetting back into a position from my 20’s :). This was a must read. Freddy Jeans investment here i come.:)

  2. Love this! I have three pairs of Levi “demi curve” which were the middle of three of their “Curve ID” range – I absolutely adore them and they fit perfectly, but unfortunately they’ve discontinued the range in favour of their 901s, which I haven’t tried.

    I have recently tried out a pair of Barbell Apparel jeans though, and these are also great for an athletic shape – they are very low rise, which I’m not used to, but they are so comfy and stay put really well!

Leave a Reply

