6 Fun Facts About Me…

Usually within about 20 minutes of meeting me, I nearly always hear the words “You’re mad” I guess being an Aquarian there is a wacky eccentricity to my personality and I wouldn’t change it for the world! Blogs can sometimes be one sided, yeah I lift weights, make healthy food but there’s so much more that happens in life that we don’t get to talk about! I put together some fun facts to show you a different side to my usual shenanigans……

#1 Glasto Veteran

I attended Glastonbury festival 6 years in a row (2004-2010, it wasn’t on in 2006) Yes, 6 years of muddy festival madness and still no other festival has come close to the awesome-ness of Glasto! I have so many great memories like that first year I almost turned Hare Krishna (long story), secret Radiohead gigs, Bjork, strawberry cider, 4am raves and so much more. I’m yet to make a come back, though I feel I could only commit to it with a camper van, really showing my age now lol! I reckon everyone needs to experience this amazing place at least once in a lifetime.When are the tickets on sale again?

IMG_5164

#2 Tan Virgin

Up until last year I was a fake tan virgin! I’ve always been quite the tomboy so didn’t trust myself to actually apply it properly. I’m lucky to be quite sallow, well when I actually see the sunshine (which is quite rare) I get a great tan! We all know how great you feel when you have a color so last year before a friends hen party I decided to get a spray tan. I was hooked immediately, the colour was so close to my natural tone and gave me that “señorita” look, I knew it wouldn’t be the last time I got one. Now that the summer is here it’s time to get the legs out, I mean why do all that training if you can’t show them off? Spray tans will definitely be part of my summer regime this year. There’s still no way I’ll do it myself, I love tigers but I don’t want to look like one!

#3 The Sound Of Music

Coming from a musical family it’s no surprise that I got involved myself! I started singing/performing arts at the age of 11 (Back in my Britney days!) and I actively sang right up until I was 24, although most nights out usually end up with me belting out a few tunes. I was also a dancer-mostly hip hop from the age of 12 and competed in national competitions winning a few in the process. I was even part of the Dublin All Star Marching Band, I was on the pom poms. Discovering rock music meant leaving my dancing shoes behind as I felt is was no longer “cool”  but I progressed into a band with friends in school. I believe these lessons are still relevant today, when I competed in my first weightlifting competition I was able to block out the people watching, just like my past performances, resulting in less nerves!

62957_441897894692_3590287_n

#4 Aimee Rainbows

A bit Cringe! But this was a nickname of mine for years, there was different variations e.g Mimi Rainbows, Little Rainbows, Rainbow Girl the list went on. The background? I used to wear some pretty wacky clothes, every colour and pattern you could imagine, in fact I didn’t even own any black clothes until I was 22 and that was because I got a job in BT2. Prior to that I worked in Georges St Arcade for 3 years and I guess embracing a unique style was part of the resume there. My first tattoo was a crayon style rainbow, to always remind me of this time in my life and just to always remember to embrace your creative side.

12316139_439226806269585_8175810791552365309_n

#5 All The Ink

Following from that last point, I have seven tattoos in total (and no intention of stopping there!) My tattoos include the rainbow on my left foot (meaning above), on my right foot I have a blue bird with a line from “Somewhere over the rainbow” in memory of my nana-I should add this was by far the most painful! Others include an owl on my arm and a wolf/skull on my calf- to mark my five year anniversary with Christy, small designs on each wrist and a Thai design done with bamboo on a trip to Thailand. I would love a half sleeve but would only choose an artist I love for this, I’m very picky so this could take a while! I want my body to represent my life, exciting moments, adventures etc it’s how I express myself. When people ask me “But, what will you look like when you’re 70?” I always say I will look 70 with tattoos? I’ll still be Aimee and it’s my choice anyway! Some girls love shoes, I love tattoos!

#6 Fashion Blogger

Despite the fact that my wardrobe is 98% gym gear I did have great fashion sense once upon a time! As a teenager I loved to express myself through fashion and music, I didn’t care much what people thought of me and my main objective was to never look like anyone else. I remember one time my brother refusing to give me a lift because my outfit was too “out there!” I never pursued this passion until about 5 years ago I set up a Tumblr account and decided to start a fashion blog! It turned out that fire had long gone out as I didn’t feel it represented my current goals. This led me to pursue my passion for health, fitness and recipe making- thus Primal Piggy was born a year later. You never know how things can turn out, you have to take risks. Remember failing is not permanent, it’s a lesson learned! So if you believe in something keep pushing forward, work hard and dreams will become reality….

10506_10152189362240635_626131222_n

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

